What to expect
During the hike we will see the following points of interest:
Laulasmaa Spa, village and beach
Laulasmaa has been a popular summer resort since the 19th century. In 1950, a holiday home for trade unions was established there, which has now grown into the Laulasmaa Spa hotel after several changes of ownership and renovation works. Sand dunes, the sea and pine trees await visitors there
Arvo Pärt Center
Arvo Pärt is a composer whose work has left an important mark on the history of Estonian music. A unique spacious center built in his honor in 2018 on the edge of the Laulasmaa forest, where you can get to know Arvo Pärt’s creative legacy with the help of various archive materials, films, exhibitions and educational programs. In addition to the composer’s archive, the center also has a library, an auditorium, an exhibition area, study rooms, a concert hall and a cafe. The center also has an observation tower, the views from which are an experience in itself.
Meremõisa beach and camping area
A beautiful seaside recreation area with campfires and shelters on the RMK coastal hiking trail.
Keila-Joa Ministers cottage area
Between the Keila-Joa beach and the river hides a unique cottage district, the construction of which began in the fall of 1934. “Naturally, the choice of the location of the government buildings can be considered successful in all respects. This is the most beautiful and remarkable part of Keila-Joa. Here there are better bathing opportunities in the clear and warm river water and on the shores covered with clean sand,” described the Vaba Maa newspaper in July 1935. It was the resting place of the Estonian ruling elite at the time, where elected ministers could enjoy summer vacations. Privacy was important there – the area was (and still is) limited by gardens and a pier, so that prying eyes could not get in. The decree even prohibited movement on the coastal path. In the 1990s, several well-known businessmen and politicians such as Edgar Savisaar, Jaan Toots, Oliver Kruuda bought cottages there.
Keila-Joa manor park and Keila waterfall
The town of Keila-Joa is named after the picturesque waterfall that descends from the escarpment of the North Estonian Bank on the Keila River. Keila waterfall is 6 m high. On both banks of the river there is a landscape park with alternating relief and beautiful views, which was established here together with a magnificent manor house in the 19th century. The park runs along the banks of the river and also hides the burial place of former landlords. The location of the family cemetery was chosen by Alexander von Benckendorff, who was also the first to be buried there.
Just 2.5 km from the Keila waterfall, behind the beautiful Türisalu landscape protection area, there is another, slightly smaller, Türisalu waterfall. What makes this waterfall special is that it is a three-step waterfall, and since these ledges are located in a layer of sand, they are constantly changing due to water erosion. The waterfall is fed by the Türisalu stream, which is relatively water-poor and tends to remain dry in the summer. Therefore, if you want to see the flowing Türisalu waterfall, you must plan your visit at the right time.
The heart of the manor park is the historic Keila-Joa castle. Count Alexander Benckendorff started building the castle in 1827. In 1917, the castle was looted by soldiers. Later the manor was nationalized. In 1927, by the decision of the Estonian government, the castle was used by the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs together with the adjacent buildings. In 1936, the local power plant started operating. During the Second World War, the castle was used by both the Red Army and the Germans. Because of its strategically favorable location, it was also home to the Abwehr school for German military intelligence. During the Soviet period, the castle was used by the Soviet military. After Estonia regained its independence, the castle went to the Estonian Ministry of Foreign Affairs again. In 2010, the castle was sold into private hands and extensive renovation works began there, and now a hotel, restaurant and museum are open there.
We are also happy to organize a full event solution. Additional options for the bike tour:
* Hiking soup
* Laulasmaa Spa restaurant Wicca
* Keila-Joa castle restaurant
Entertainment and culture
*Visit and tour of the Arvo Pärt Center
* Keila-Joa Castle Museum
* Arvo Pärt Center seminar rooms
* Laulasmaa SPA seminar rooms
Sauna and relaxation:
* Visit to Laulasma SPA Water and sauna facilities
* Laulasmaa SPA hotel
* Keila-Joa Castle
* Sambla farm homestay
* SUP board ride on Laulasmaa beach